First Impression…

This is my second class with Carol and I can not be more thrilled! To start off, I am taking this course because it is a requirement for my Journalism major and the Journalism track. The class I had last semester with Carol was a social media course in which I learned a lot about the use of social media and how to effectively strategize it to benefit you personally, as well as in the workplace. Anyways, my experience with social media and media in general I like to think is more advanced than the average bear. I use Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and Snapchat which I feel like is pretty standard. I am an athlete so I try to use it sort of as self-promotion and to create my own “personal brand”. I wouldn’t say that I am glued to my screen, but I feel as if I am on my phone as much as anyone else. I do love technology but I’m also into either reading a good book or having good conversations. I’m a sucker for a good story and a good conversation over almost anything. When it comes to news media, fake media outlets online is probably what frustrates me most and honestly I do not see it going away anytime soon. I think media and journalists who tell the truthful story as well as not carry along their own opinions to influence the truth is good reporting and good media to me. I think that social media can cure this “flow” of “bad news” but I could also see it making the big problem that we already have much worse given the raise of social media users everyday. Honestly, I do not have any experience on the programming side of things. Social media and media in general does a fantastic job of keeping our world so connected and so small. Keeping in touch with people across the world is as easy as a click of a button. Being connected is a very beautiful thing. Another huge plus is being kept informed. Knowledge is always power.

 

 

friends.jpg

Leave a Reply

